2024 Presidential Scholars Named

161 high school seniors across the country are being recognized for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education.

9 of those students are from California.  None attend school in the Coachella Valley.


Lauren Amy Cheng, Burlingame High School, Burlingame, California. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

Erin Park, Chino High School, Chino, California. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

Brian Bowen Guan, Dublin High School, Dublin, California. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

Penelope L. Oliver, Horizon Charter School, Lincoln, California.

Ian Byul Kim, Harvard-Westlake School, North Hollywood, California. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

Edward Chen, Orange County High School of the Arts, Santa Ana, California. (Presidential Scholar in the Arts)

Kyle Tianshi, The Cambridge School, San Diego, California.

Caitlyn Haein Park, Saugus High School, Saugus, California. (Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education)

Jacob L. Hutchison Jr., Redwood High School, Visalia, California. (Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education)


2024 is the 60th Anniversary of the U.S. Presidential Scholars represent the best of our nation’s schools and inspire hope in the bright future of this country,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “On behalf of President Biden, I am delighted to celebrate their accomplishments, and encourage these scholars to continue to aim high, lift up others, and embrace opportunities to lead.”

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on academic success, excellence in the arts and in technical education, through essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

Of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,700 candidates qualified for the 2024 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts, the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of two students from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large, 20 scholars,  in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education. 


Female student sitting on the floor studying at a school library.

Photo from Alpha Media Portland OR